Happy birthday, Edvard

It’s the birthday of Norwegian composer and concert pianist Edvard Grieg (1842-1907), the guy who put Norway on the musical map. Grieg’s Holberg Suite, composed 1884, consists of five movements, each based on an 18th century dance form. Here is the third movement, played by the strings of the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra — a group of musicians who make no secret of how much fun they’re having.

12 Responses to Happy birthday, Edvard

  1. Léa says:

    Delightful! Thank you for the introduction. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely. Happy Belated Birthday, Edvard. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice to see that some ppl play classical music in concert w/o wearing stone faces and penguin suits. And they do play it well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • And from memory! In fact, if you go to YouTube, you can see them perform the entire suite — all five movements — from memory. (Apparently in order to join this orchestra, in addition to being a virtuoso musician, you also have to have a memory like a steel trap.) In the final movement they cut loose and start dancing around the stage with their instruments, never missing a note.

      Liked by 1 person

      • OK, I have bookmarked it. Thanks.

        Up to now, I have thought of the Holberg Suite as one of many good pieces that are so very popular with the ppl who compile playlists on good radio stations that I hear it a little too often. But hearing and seeing this performance really is special.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: